Launtel, is introducing a $20 minimum balance to our pay-as-you-go model. This change is due to the high fees charged by Opticomm. Opticomm charges Launtel $110 every time we process a connection or a churn, which makes it difficult for us to maintain our pricing model if a customer doesn’t charge up their account.
To give you an idea, if someone doesn’t recharge their account, Launtel is unable to easily disconnect and reconnect services, and if we do so with Opticomm, we are slapped with a $110 fee. This can be stressful and costly for us as we have to keep paying for the service if the customer is not contactable, and we may even get the decision wrong, like in the case of when a customer was in the hospital for a week.
By introducing a $20 minimum balance, we can now give ourselves some time to sort things out without incurring additional fees from Opticomm. This way, they can continue to offer their pay-as-you-go model without being burdened with the extra costs from Opticomm.
It’s worth noting that Launtel is not introducing any extra charges, and the $20 balance is still refundable if a customer leaves. This change will only affect customers who don’t recharge their accounts
Below you will find answers to the most common questions related to the changes in our Opticomm low balance, starting March 1st, 2023. These changes include a new minimum balance requirement of $20 and implementing the “Standby” plan for low-balance accounts. We encourage you to read through this FAQ page and contact us with any further questions or concerns.
Q: What is the new minimum balance requirement for Opticomm customers starting March 1st, 2023?
A: As of March 1st, 2023, all Opticomm customers will be required to maintain a minimum balance of $20 on their account.
Q: What happens when my account balance falls below $20?
A: If your account balance falls below $20, your service will be placed on “Standby” and you will be charged $1.20 per day until your balance is replenished. If the balance falls to $0, the service will be disconnected.
Q: What is the “Standby” plan?
A: The “Standby” plan is a temporary service plan that limits your internet speed and charges you a lesser daily fee until your balance is replenished.
Q: What happens if my service is disconnected?
A: If your service is disconnected, you will be required to pay a $110 connection fee to reconnect to an Opticomm service at the same address.
Q: Can I change my speed tier when my service is on “Standby”?
A: Yes, you can change your speed tier when your service is on “Standby” but be aware that if your balance falls to $0, your service will be disconnected.
Q: What are the notifications for account balance?
A: You will receive email notifications 3 days before hitting the new minimum balance of $20, when your service has been modified to Standby, when your balance falls below $5, 1 day before disconnection and finally, when the service has been disconnected.
Q: When do these changes take effect?
A: These changes take effect on March 1st, 2023, for new customers and upon their next recharge after March 1st 2023, for existing customers.
Q: Is there a way to avoid disconnection and reconnection fees?
A: Yes, by maintaining a minimum balance of $20, you can avoid disconnection and reconnection fees.
Q: Is there a way to get more information about these changes?
A: Yes, please refer to the FAQ page provided in the email, or contact us on 1800528683 for further assistance.
Q: What about my Auto-recharge? Will this still count and what do I need to set it to?
A: As long as you retain an auto-recharge of at least $25 then this will retain the $20 minimum balance without issues.